3-Day Detox Cleanse – Day One is Done!

Okay, I’m a meat and potatoes kind of gal, always have been.  In the past few years, however, I’ve become more health conscious, cutting back on red meat, eating more lean fish, poultry and incorporating more fruits and vegetables into my daily diet.  As part of my nutritional research, I’ve collaborated with a registered dietitian to see which plan works best for my age and current health condition.detox cleanse

As I mentioned in a previous post, I decided to include a Detox Cleanse as part of my Spring Cleaning plan.  Detox cleanses come in all shapes and sizes; celebrities swear by them.  Most of those, however, do more harm than good.  They’re aimed at reducing weight rapidly, with the majority of it being water weight.  Along with the weight, your body also loses essential  nutrients.  In the short term, a daily fast or cleanse may not be harmful but without the vitamins and minerals your body needs to survive, these types of cleanses are not sustainable.

My research once again brought me back to the 3-Day Detox Cleanse.  This plan was developed by a family physician specializing in Functional Medicine, Dr. Mark Hyman.  It was introduced by renowned cardiac physician, Dr. Mehmet Oz.  The purpose is not primarily to lose weight, but eliminate toxins from your body, giving you more energy and clarity. 

There are side effects that go along with this detox cleanse but I haven’t experienced any as yet.  Each meal is the same, followed for 3 days.  Here’s the plan:

Detox Cleanse Breakfast SmoothieBreakfast

Morning Detox Tea:  Green Tea with 1 slice lemon and 1 tsp. Stevia

Breakfast Drink:

1 cup water

1 tbsp. flax seed

1 cup raspberries

1 banana

1/4 cup spinach

1 tbsp. almond butter

2 tsp. fresh lemon juice     Mix all ingredients in a blender or juicer

1/2 Multivitamin and Probiotic Supplement

Detox Cleanse Lunch SmoothieLunch Drink:

4 celery stalks

1 cucumber

1 cup kale leaves

½ green apple

½ lime, squeezed

1 tbsp. coconut oil

½ cup almond milk, unsweetened

1 cup pineapple       Mix all ingredients in a blender or juicer

 1/2 Multivitamin and Omega-3 Supplement

 Snack:  Repeat favorite drink

 Detox Cleanse Dinner SmoothieDinner Drink:

1/2 cup mango

1 cup blueberries

1-1/2 cup coconut water

1 cup kale leaves

1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1/4 avocado

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 tbsp. flax seeds       Mix all ingredients in a blender or juicer

 Detox Ultra Bath:  (at night)

Add 2-1/2 cups Epsom Salt and 10 drops Lavender Oil to a warm bath and S-O-A-K for 20 minutes.  (Sorry, photos off limits…nothing to see here folks!)

I’m not a huge fan of lavender so I opted for the Epsom salts and some bath oil I already had on hand.  It was heavenly, but having to clean the bathtub afterward spoiled the mood!

I’m familiar with what my personal nutritional needs are but recommend anyone attempting this or any other diet, consult with your physician first.  Some side effects can be fatigue, constipation, diarrhea, irritability or headache.  Don’t forget, some of these side effects are as a result of toxins leaving your system.  If you’re used to having caffeine, you may experience a headache due to withdrawal.  I normally have 2-3 cups of coffee in the mornings yet didn’t get a headache.  I wasn’t hungry either; couldn’t even have my SNACK smoothie, yet some people experience hunger.  It could just be that you’re not used to having liquid meals and prefer solids.Detox Cleanse Breakfast Smoothie blended

 I wasn’t sure what to expect from the Breakfast Drink; it wasn’t like the “Vitameatavegamin” Lucy Riccardo advertised but it’s not a fruity smoothie either.  Once my tastebuds got used to the flavor and texture, I enjoyed it.Detox Cleanse Lunch Smoothie blended

The Lunch Drink however was another story.  It was thick and not at all appealing to me.  This is where my husband called it quits.  He had about 4 mouthfuls but couldn’t finish the rest.   He was able to drink the Breakfast Smoothie but just could not get this one down.  Ha ha… I knew he wouldn’t last!  But now I’m lonely and have to finish the remainder of the plan by myself.

 Detox Cleanse Dinner Smoothie blendedThe Dinner Drink was okay, much better than the Lunch Drink but not as good as the Breakfast Drink.  Drinking several glasses of water throughout the day along with exercise helped curb my anxiety and appetite.  I’m going to bed feeling both full and sleepy.

 So Day 1 is finished.  Yea, I survived!  Only 2 more days to go.  I think I can, I think I can…

 When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.” ~ Author Unknown

Leave a comment