A New Year is Dawning

“Men should pledge themselves to nothing; for reflection makes a liar of their resolution.” ~ Sophocles

  resolutions 2013

Ahh, 2013 is quickly approaching. What does that mean to you? I recently heard someone ask a TV host “what resolutions are you NOT going to keep this year?” That was a rather pointless question. Why make any resolutions at all? I suppose we all would like to do or be something better in the coming year, but why wait until New Year’s Day to begin; why not start on your birthday, or on July 4th (Independence Day), or even March 15th (Ides of March) for example?

cartoon resolutionI thought it would be fun to research the history of “New Year’s Resolutions” to discover where and why this tradition began. One site I found interesting was http://billpetro.com/history-of-new-years-resolutions. My question is, why not make plans and have goals for the future, rather than setting yourself up for failure by making resolutions? I ask this because the future is so unpredictable. Many people do their best to stay healthy yet develop a sudden illness. We try and keep our children safe, yet some get injured through no fault of our own. A job offer that was “set in stone” falls through or a loved one passes unexpectedly.goals

How many of you are making resolutions or specific plans for the coming year? Some common ones I hear about are getting healthier and making more money. A few of mine include beginning a new blog and attracting a multitude of followers, getting my driver’s license (long story), starting a non-profit organization, traveling to Europe and having a manuscript published or at least have one ready to go.

Family 2012 

Before beginning a new year, it’s nice to reflect on the last 365 days. My husband and his partner opened a second restaurant, my daughter began her first year of college and I finally received my Bachelor’s Degree. In winding down, we celebrated a beautiful Christmas holiday with many family members at my sister’s house. If everyone were present, three generations, there would have been about 50 of us. We’re truly blessed.

I’d love to read about some of the resolutions, goals or plans you are making for 2013. They may give me ideas on how to become a better person, how to live life more fully or how I can be of more service to others.

Taking some time to relax by the fire on this cold winter evening, I’ll reminisce about the beautiful gifts God has provided for me this past year and look forward to an exciting and challenging future.

“Everyone has a choice to see life as a to-do list or a journey. The first leads to ‘work’ and the second leads to ‘adventure’. Which do you choose?” ~ Whitney Ferre

One thought on “A New Year is Dawning

  1. My goals for the first quarter of this year are fitness and finding an agent for my novel. I figure by giving myself a shorter time frame and fewer goals, I can focus and stay on track. I suppose I’m not sure what a resolution really is since I’ve always just made goals.

Leave a Reply

