Happy Thanksgiving and Then Some…

I hope everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving as much as I did.  Once again, I shared mine with many family members and once again, although I was careful to avoid vegetables in creamy sauces and gravies, I will admit I had my share of desserts.  I couldn’t help it; there were so many to choose from and I don’t like to waste food.  Actually that’s only one part of it. 

The other truth is two-fold; I missed seeing my daughter for the holiday (she remained near campus with family friends) and I was quite frustrated that we’ve been without hot water for three weeks due to a defective tankless water heater that crashed during the storm.  I do not do cold showers! Those two situations contributed to my mini-meltdown and emotional overeating where I broke my low-cholesterol meal plan for several days.  Yes, those are also poor excuses. 

I recognize, however, I’m human and am getting back on track.  I’ll just need to do an extra half hour of exercise daily for the next two weeks to avoid the extra holiday weight gain.  You would think that lugging pots of hot water to and from the bathroom every day to wash up would be exercise enough.  (You would think!)

Before my daughter comes home for winter break, I want to get the house in order, decorate, do some Christmas shopping and finish my last class with flying colors.  I spent half the day testing light strings and three hours attempting to wash windows.  We had windows replaced throughout the house as we remodeled and although the new ones are beautiful, the double panes with the insulated inserts are extremely difficult and time-consuming to remove and clean.  Thank goodness they only need to be done once a year, with the exception of the insides.  My fingers are beginning to feel like alligator claws.

If it weren’t the fact I’ve been out until after 2am for the past few nights, I think I’d have more energy to do some meaningful writing.  On a positive note, catching up on some much needed sleep should put me back in the race.  The next set of holidays is quickly approaching and there’s so much to do.  I love busy but I like it better when it’s on my own terms.  Tomorrow I’ll be back to my healthy eating and exercise again and can organize my schedule for decorating, shopping, cleaning, cooking and finishing school. 

 With so much going on in the next month or so, it’s important I take time to reflect on what is important and sacred in my life.  I’m looking forward to a new year but don’t want to rush what’s left of this one.  Life is too short.  I’d like to take it one step at a time, savoring each precious moment.

 “I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.” ~ Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

