A Task Without Vision is the Ultimate Drudgery

I just spent a significant part of my day collecting voluminous lists of website addresses I’ve accumulated since I first went online in the mid-nineties, which were hastily tucked into several folders.  It’s amazing I’m not in a strait-jacket right now. 

 The thought of having to sift through every one of them is terrifying; there must be well over 200 sites on the list.  I’m hoping a good portion of them are obsolete.  But now I have the painstaking task of verifying each site with the email address and password originally assigned.

 This will be a lengthy task but it has to be done. Can I possibly be the only one who has subscribed to countless education, business, marketing, health, cooking, decorating, fitness, craft, holiday, family, parenting, travel, gardening, fashion, social media and entrepreneurship websites?  Once my edited list is complete and neatly tabulated into a form I can pin up in front of my computer screen for easy access (or written in a book), I can FINALLY, after all these years, sit back in my cozy leather chair and r-e-l-a-x; another dreaded chore involving paperwork is complete!

 My other mission is to determine just how many personal e-mail addresses I have.  When reviewing the address list, I noticed countless e-mail addresses in AOL, Hotmail, Gmail, Yahoo and Optonline.  I can’t wait to eliminate and condense this list which brings me to the ultimate question,

 how did this incredible mess get so out of control?

 Like a tiny little blemish that festers and mushrooms into a huge, massive cyst (OMG, the thought…UGH!), subscribing to websites became a horribly insidious addiction.  Do you think there are any 12-Step programs for internet or texting addicts?  If not, maybe there should be.

Actually, I don’t think I’m that bad…haha, famous last words.  

Seriously, I did not freak out when we lost power, landline and cellphone service during the recent storms but I know people who did.  Strange yet not unusual that most of them were teenagers or young adults.  Business people, on the other hand, always know where to go to get their website/e-mail fix.  After all, it’s their livelihood at stake.

 Soon, it will be time for me to do another happy dance.  Two major feats soon to be accomplished; another 50 or so to go!  Rome wasn’t built in a day and my assignments won’t be finished today either, however I’m pleased I’m making a huge dent.  I like the feeling of “aaahhhh” – it’s very satisfying.

 “The best angle from which to approach any problem is the try-angle.” ~ Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

