Nothin’ Says Lovin’ Like Something From the Oven! (Pillsbury)

I’m excited it’s that time of year again when I liberate my holiday cookie cutters and utensils from their year-long refuge and prepare my kitchen for a virtual holiday bake-off.

 This year, I was asked to bring cookies to the Thanksgiving feast.  I enjoy making dozens of different cookies but I’ll have to narrow it down.  Everyone loves sugar cookies.  I have three favorite recipes; each with a different twist.  My personal favorite is the one made with cream cheese.  After scouring my holiday cookbooks and personal recipe files, I’ve decided to make decorative sugar cookie snowflakes, peanut blossoms (the kids’ favorites), chocolate raisin oatmeal cookies and linzer cookies (to start)!

 I’ll be careful what I have for dinner on Thanksgiving, sticking as best I can with the low-cholesterol meal plan I’m following, however I will allow myself a treat or two because after all, isn’t that what the holidays are for?  I couldn’t possibly spend an entire day enjoying my family without a little indulgence, namely dessert.  I only wish I could allow myself to bring some treats back home with me, but I can’t if I want to avoid the temptation. 

 After baking and decorating the cookies, I’ll be posting the recipes along with photos.  For now, it’s time to finish my holiday cleaning, do some decorating, complete writing assignments and get ready for the big day! 

“I figured if I was going to make the world a better place, I’d do it with cookies.” ~ Ana Pascal, Stranger than Fiction

Leave a Reply

