Daylight Savings: Time for a Change

 

What would you do if you had an “extra hour” in your day, not just today because we turn our clocks back for daylight savings time, but any day?  Time is a precious commodity; one that is often misused or wasted on frivolous matters.  I don’t know about you, but where I live, when daylight hours diminish, I feel I have fewer hours of productivity.  When the summer sun sets near 9pm, I’m still wired and ready to continue working on various tasks for the day.  However, when darkness falls early, before the normal work day ends, it seems my energy fades much sooner.

If I had an extra hour, one where I could do whatever I pleased without limits for those precious 60 minutes, here is a list of things I’d consider:

1.  Visit a wounded veteran, invalid, nursing home, homeless shelter, jail or other person/facility where the most weak, wounded, fearful or downtrodden reside.

2.  Meditate and pray the rosary.

3.  Spend time reminiscing with my brothers and sisters; just the six of us.

4.  Visit my parent’s graves.

5.  Take a hike along the Appalachian Trail.

6.  Get a spa treatment with my best friend.

7.  Dance with all my great-nieces and nephews.

8.  Build a snowman and fort with my daughter.

9.  Visit the Blarney Stone or Wailing Wall. 

10. Go horseback riding on a Hawaiian beach at sunrise.

11.  Take a Tai-Chi class.

12. Sit in the Oval Office and write a Proclamation.

13. Finish a NY Times Sunday crossword puzzle.

14. Cruise in a submarine.

15. Take a hot-air balloon ride.

16. Take a trip down the Nile.

17. Have an all-expense paid shopping spree at Chanel.

18. Care for homeless animals at a shelter.

19. Write a best-selling short story.

20. Take an electrical wiring or woodworking class.

Wow, I could probably go on forever.  Some of the above might actually fall into the “bucket-list” category but it was fun trying to find things I’d like to squeeze into an hour, no matter the location.  Having an extra hour is one thing; having enough money or opportunity to satisfy my desires is another.

The quote surrounding my yearbook picture comes to mind: “Some of the best things in life are free, some are not, but that’s life.”  I’m not sure where I heard or came up with that curious saying but I suppose it has merit.  It is true, for me at least, that some of the best memories I have are of situations that were priceless.  They were times spent alone or with loved ones; reflecting, laughing, playing or merely conversing without expectations.  It’s these times I cherish and don’t want to take for granted.  An hour here or there makes a difference only if you want it to.

“Time is too slow for those who wait, too swift for those who fear, too long for those who grieve, too short for those who rejoice, but for those who love, time is eternity.” ~ Henry van Dyke

Leave a Reply

