Surviving Frankenstorm aka Hurricane Sandy

I thought I’d post this a little early in the event I lose power.  The primary surge of the storm is expected to strike in about 2 hours.  Fortunately the rain is not as bad as expected, as our driveway would have flooded by now.  The wind is the main challenge and the gusts are ranging from 35 to 75mph as we speak, expectied to increase to 95mph later this evening.  Our local news station warns that 6pm is the critical hour when storm Sandy will be at it’s worst.

Fortunately, I have a lot to keep me busy in the event of a power outage.  Plenty of flashlights and books to read; primarily for school.  Here are a few on my list to complete.

The aroma of the pork loin simmering away in the crockpot is teasing my tastebuds.  If only the power stays on for three more hours…  I haven’t baked a cake in quite a while but the chocolate bundt I made early this morning survived the storm and is waiting to be devoured after dinner.

Most of Long Island and New York City (the city that never sleeps) is resting; waiting out the storm.  The markets closed early, schools are closed today and tomorrow, mass transit has pretty much stopped and government safety officials (highway, parks, security, etc.) are on alert and out in force.  This will blow over in a day or so and hopefully, due to advance warning and suggested evaculations, nobody will have lost their life.

These next few days will be merely a memory soon.  Cities and towns will begin their cleanups, stores and restaurants will reopen and cars will be flooding the highways again.  I am grateful I have a secure, comfortable place to hide from the storm.  Things could be worse.  My prayers go out to all those facing dangerous situations during this terrible weather.  This coming weekend promises brighter days and quieter hearts.

Leave a Reply

