Can’t Keep a Good (Wo)man Down!

One of Murphy’s Technology Laws: “If you can’t understand it, it is intuitively obvious.”  (http://www.murphys-laws.com/)   I woke this morning with the wholehearted intention of downloading and editing the video I shot last night of my Halloween yard decorations.  After a quick breakfast, I put some of my props away in the garage in anticipation of “Frankenstorm.”  Then I sat at my computer for most of the day and into the evening, with a few exceptions, trying to figure out how to convert my VOB files into MPEG or similar files so I could work with them in Windows Movie Maker.  This is not the first time this has happened.

I’ve run across technological challenges since I began working with computers decades ago.  I learned on a Wang computer, back in the 1980’s.  Computers were fun, so I thought, and I taught myself most of the important office-related programs early on; both for Windows and Mac.  I was proud that I could master some of these on my own and those I couldn’t, I took courses here and here to perfect.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been to a computer class in ages.  Most essential programs I can figure out on my own but forget about adding cameras or videos into the mix.  Since technology changes every second, I feel I’ve fallen way behind.

My Sony camcorder is a little outdated but it still does the trick.  After finalizing the mini-DVD, I would pop it into my computer or TV to play full screen, complete with audio.  For some reason, I forgot if I or how I used to send it to others via e-mail.  Thinking back, I’m not sure I did.  Not quite a year ago, I signed up for a YouTube channel but only used it to save a couple of videos that were of interest to me.  I only uploaded my very first video this past August.  That’s where my problem arose.  I did not, for the life of me, remember how on earth I copied the DVD files from my camcorder onto my hard drive and convert them into files I could work with for Movie Maker.  I located the files on my computer from August and the extension was WMV (media viewer) which confused me even more. 

To make matters worse, I answered a phone call I knew would be lengthy, right when I thought I had figured out the file dilemma.  Needless to say, an hour and a half later I was fit to be tied.  To make a long story short, I finally figured out what to do by trial and error; a little research online and a little fooling with the programs on my computer.  Voila!  Twelve hours later, I managed to make a movie, even trim out a part of it, add music and upload it to YouTube.  Hurrah!  I’m not as senile as I was beginning to think!  I did my little happy dance in my office as it was uploading but started thinking of the steps I took to accomplish my goal.  That’s right, I didn’t write them down.

I still don’t understand how kids have been uploading videos to YouTube and other sites f-o-r-e-v-e-r.  Maybe they were born with a technological sixth-sense.  All I know is you can teach an old dog new tricks and this one is eager to learn some more!

 “I’ve come to believe that all my past failure and frustrations were actually laying the foundation for the understandings that have created the new level of living I now enjoy.” ~ Tony Robbins

3 thoughts on “Can’t Keep a Good (Wo)man Down!

Leave a Reply

