Shakespeare Would Have Been an Awesome Blogger

Hamlet’s “To sleep, perchance to dream” can be restated as “to dream, perchance to blog” for me.  I’ve mentioned before that every 20 minutes or so, I think of several topics I’d like to write about and by the next hour, my daydreaming leads me down other avenues.  So today’s question is how, exactly, does one decide what to write about in a (daily) blog when their interests are numerous and extremely varied in content?

 I’ll resort to a tip my oldest brother gave me several years ago.  He recommended I keep a whiteboard and pen in the rooms I do my best and most fervent thinking in.  I figured it would be easier just to carry around my pocket tape recorder; after all, I carry around a cell phone most of the time so I thought it would be convenient.  Older brothers are indispensable for a reason…they are usually much more intelligent and mine certainly is!  It was way too much trouble to drag the recorder around, only having to replay it and write down what I recorded in the end.

The whiteboard idea was brilliant but I didn’t have one handy, so I began with notebooks in each room.  That worked a little better until I decided to purchase little whiteboards I could scribble on and erase rather than have MORE books laying around.  So now I have a several methods by which to jot my thoughts and feelings down.  Now what was I saying?

Oh yes, what do people ultimately blog about if they only wish to write one blog item per day.  The answer can be as simple as writing about the most important thing they thought, felt or heard that day.  On the other hand, the decision could be complicated, involving research, statistics, measurements, etc.  The bottom line is, unless you have a specific blog, such as one for recipes, quotes, tech information, travel, fashion, etc., the subject you choose is entirely discretionary.  That’s what makes generic blogging so much fun.

Also taking the advice of my brother and another individual, when I write down thoughts as they occur, I can organize them into which topics are easier to write about and which ones would be more time consuming.  Organization, which is critical in writing anyway, also makes it easier to select topics for following days.  Then, depending on how busy I am during that particular day, I can select the issue that suits my availability.  It all makes sense, doesn’t it?

I’ve wanted to blog for many years.  At first, I thought only celebrities, the media and businesses did it because there was an end return involved.  Obviously I was mistaken and am happy there’s an open forum to write about anything.  Although still a novice, I’m getting practice and it’s giving me stricture.  Some days, I feel I have nothing to write about because either my day was boring or I was too busy to think.  But there’s always something to say; whether or not people will enjoy reading it is another story.  I’m not sweating that part though.  I’d rather blog than write college essays and that’s my topic for another day! 

 “Nothing makes time pass or shortens the way like a thought that absorbs in itself all the faculties of the one who is thinking. External existence is then like a sleep of which this thought is the dream. Under its influence, time has no more measure, space has no more distance.” ~  Alexandre Dumas, The Three Musketeers

Leave a Reply

