Gluten-Free Turkey and Spinach Meatballs

Yummie!  I was so hungry tonight after fooling around with Halloween decorations (still) all day.  Fortunately I remembered to defrost the ground turkey and frozen spinach.  In less than 45 minutes, most of which was waiting for the meatballs to bake, I had a tasty, gluten-free dinner.  Not much of a recipe follower unless I’m baking, I winged the recipe but hopefully you’ll be able to whip it up easily, should you find it’s worth a try.

By the way, since I did not have any gluten-free bread crumbs or special flours to use as a binder, I discovered the MixtBag GF Tortilla Chips, ground up, worked perfect!

Ingredients:

  • 1 package (1-1/4 lb) ground turkey (I used Shady Brook Farms)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 carrot, grated, 1/4 onion, grated (your preference)
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/3 cup GF tortilla chips, ground
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1 10-oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1 jar Francesco Rinaldi Marinara Sauce

Directions:  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Beat egg in bowl.  Add vegetables, cheese, chips (or you can substitute GF bread crumbs if desired), Worcestershire sauce, spices and spinach.  Mix well.  Add ground turkey, combine thoroughly and shape mixture into balls (about 20 – all depends on how large you make them). 

Place meatballs on slotted rack on aluminum coated baking pan.  Bake 25-30 minutes. 

Remove meatballs and place in heated sauce for 5 to 10 minutes while you prepare a salad or GF pasta.  Serve and enjoy.

You notice there is very little fat left in the pan.  The aluminum foil makes for easy clean up too!

These meatballs were moist and nicely seasoned.  All the products I used indicated they were GF on the labels, including the 2 sauces.

I went off my meal/recipe plan tonight but I thought I owed it to myself.  Sometimes you have to change it up a little and add some spice to your life!

“Variety’s the very spice of life, That gives it all its flavor.” ~ William Cowper
One thought on “Gluten-Free Turkey and Spinach Meatballs

Leave a Reply

