My Remodeling Journey: 2+ Years and counting

I’m quite exhausted, having spent a good 8 hours outside this afternoon pruning bushes (with the vengeance of a chain saw murderer), trimming trees, cutting grass and raking leaves. It was all in preparation for my Halloween decorating.  Without proper landscaping, even my larger creatures would be swallowed up by all the greenery which seems to mass produce every year. By the time I finally dragged my aching body downstairs into my craft room to gather some decorations, it was getting too dark to begin lugging skeletons, skulls, spiders and spotlights outside.  It’s better I wait until tomorrow and decorate in the daylight, even though the forecast calls for showers.  Great.

While I was downstairs, I realized I have a lot more room to spread out all my decorations and supplies because we had recently finished remodeling all but two areas.  We started with the outside and migrated into the lower level about two years ago.  It’s been a very long process and we are not finished yet.  Slow and steady as they say.  I’m really happy with the way it turned out and I thought I’d share some before and after photos.

The two bathrooms were completely remodeled.  We expanded the laundry area but it’s still a work in progress.  The craft room and back bedroom were updated but I’m not posting pictures right now since I have decorations scattered about.  I’ve shown the outside, lower entrance hall, three bathrooms (we added one in the office/den) and the kitchen in various stages of remodel. 

Although I love all the new rooms, my favorite is the kitchen (but, of course!)  The original cabinets are solid wood and in great condition.  Rather than replace them, we had them sanded down and stained a lighter shade.  All new stainless steel appliances made a huge improvement.  We also had all new electrical, lighting and plumbing work done which makes me feel much safer.  New windows, doors and even an additional set of stairs at the back of the house were added.

I’m thinking the new office/den my husband wanted is really going to become his “man cave” because, in addition to the new full bathroom, he had a mini-kitchen area built complete with cabinets, a microwave and small refrigerator.  He’s also set up with a large screen TV, complete stereo system (CD/DVD/VCR) and there’s even a fireplace in the room – perfect for his “cave” setting.  As long as he doesn’t ask me to chop any wood, I’ll be happy 😀

The main apartment has been finished for a year but we’re still in the process of completing the office/den, back stairs and landing and the laundry area.  Once that’s done, if we’re still alive and have some money left, we’ll tackle the upstairs where I merrily prepare my meals in the Brady kitchen.  I guess it could be worse; I’m not complaining.  But where’s Alice when I need her?

I hope you enjoy the photos. 

“If you’re tired of taking one step forward and two steps back, just turn around. That way you’ll be going forward in reverse.” Jarok Kintz, The Days of Yay are Here! Wake Me Up When They’re Over
Leave a Reply

